Rivers reach the sea / Los ríos alcanzan el mar

(Lea la versión en español abajo)

OKAY, a poem from our compilation!

This time around from the West Coast of Turtle Island. We hope you enjoy the selection and continue to support our campaign.

If you have not yet done so, please do come by our campaign headquarters on Indiegogo. And get your copy of this multicultural anthology or sign-up for your favorite perk!

=> http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/indigenous-message-on-water

 Oceaness

michael d. blackstock

nation gitxan, norwest british columbia, skena river (xsan), canada

Michael is an independent scholar, carver, poet, professional forester and chartered mediator. His Gitxsan name is Ama Goodim Gyet, and he is a member of the House of Geel, Killer Whale house, Fireweed clan.  Michael is the founder of the theory of Blue Ecology, a water-first approach to ecosystem management, and he was a member of the Expert Advisory Group on Water and Cultural Diversity, UNESCO-IHP.

Rivers Reach the Sea

In the beginning the clean rains came down
A welcomed pitter-pattering, drip-drop sound
Rain began an infinite task of painting
Pale parched land, glossy and glistening
Fresh mountain airs inflate me
Mossy trickles emerge from trees
Always going to where I’m coming from
Swirl with gravity girl, fueled by the sun

There’s a lot of work to do
Flowing from here to you
Trickle, ripple, rumble, roar
I just don’t know if I can do it anymore

They use me, waste me; disrespect and disgrace me
Common sense isn’t as common, as it used to be
I work all day flowing to a distant shore
Eating up meters, my back is getting sore
I’ll tell you what, I’ll share a thing or two, with you
City folk, country too, can’t recall what I was meant to do
It’s lonely without my silvery-swimmer friends
The sea-breeze told me, they’ll not return again

There’s a lot of work to do
Flowing from here to you
Trickle, ripple, rumble, roar
I just don’t know if I can do it, anymore

Are you listening, do you hear the polluted rains?
Are you watching, to see me, the vacant river’s pain
I meander, stretch and dream, with tenacity
I need your help, to make sure that I reach the sea

There’s a lot of work to do
Flowing from here to you
Trickle, ripple, rumble, roar
I just don’t know if I can do it, alone, anymore

 

~~~

 

AQUÍ VAMOS con la segunda entrega de nuestra compilación. Esta vez desde la Costa Oeste de la Isla Tortuga. ¡Esperamos que disfruten esta selección y que nos ayuden a publicarla!

Si Usted quiere recibir una copia de esta antología multicultural, visite nuestra página en Indiegogo => http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/indigenous-message-on-water

 

michael d. blackstock

nación gitxan, noroeste british columbia, río skena (xsan), canadá

Michael es un investigador independiente, escultor, poeta, guardabosques profesional y mediador diplomado. Su nombre gixsan es Ama Goodim Gyet, y es miembro de la Casa de Geel, la casa de la Ballena Orca, del Clan del Geel. Michael es fundador de la teoría de la Ecología Azul, un enfoque sobre el manejo de ecosistemas que privilegia el agua. Fue miembro del grupo consultivo de expertos sobre el agua y la diversidad cultura, de la UNESCO-IHP.

Los ríos alcanzan el mar

En un comienzo las lluvias limpias descendían

Bienvenido el toc toc toc, el gluc gluc gluc

La lluvia comenzó una labor infinita de pintura

Tierra pálida y seca, brillante reluciente

Aires frescos de la montaña me llenan

Goteos musgosos emergen al pie del árbol

Siempre yendo hacia mi propio origen

Arremolinándome con la niña gravedad, alimentadas por el sol

Hay todavía trabajo por hacer

Fluir de aquí hacia ustedes

Gotear, ondear, retumbar, rugir

Solo que no sé si pueda seguir haciéndolo

Me utilizan, me malgastan; me faltan al respeto, me deshonran

El sentido común no es ya tan común como solía serlo

Trabajo todo el día fluyendo hacía una costa distante

Desgastándome metro a metro, y me duele la espalda

Pero déjenme decir algo, compartir una o dos cosas, con ustedes

Residentes de la ciudad, del campo, y es que no me acuerdo qué es,

finalmente, lo que debía hacer

Tanta soledad sin mis amigos los nadadores plateados

La brisa del mar me ha dicho que pronto vendrán

de nuevo

Hay todavía trabajo por hacer

Fluir de aquí hacia a ustedes

Gotear, ondear, retumbar, rugir

Solo que no sé si todavía pueda seguir haciéndolo

¿Me oyes, escuchas las lluvias contaminadas?
¿Me estás mirando, viendo, este dolor de río desocupado

Meandro, me estiro y sueño, con la tenacidad

Necesito tu ayuda para estar segura que alcanzaré el mar

Hay todavía trabajo por hacer

Fluir de aquí hacia ustedes

Gotear, ondear, retumbar, rugir

No sé si pueda seguir haciéndolo, yo sola, otra vez

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

